Four SSERVI awards are given each summer during the annual NASA Exploration Science Forum. The awards range in scope from lifetime achievements to early career contributions in Exploration Science. Nominations from the community are strongly encouraged. Please click on each award below for the award description and nomination criteria.
Nominees do not need to reside in the U.S. or be a U.S. citizen; nor do they need to be a member of a SSERVI Team. The Director of SSERVI, upon recommendations by a SSERVI Awards Committee, is responsible for the final selection of SSERVI award recipients. Any nominee who is not selected will automatically become a candidate for consideration the following two years if they still meet the award criteria.
Nominations are due March 31st each year.
SSERVI is currently looking for nominees for the following awards:

Shoemaker Medal

The Eugene Shoemaker Distinguished Scientist Medal is a lifetime career achievement award in lunar and planetary sciences given to scientists who have made significant contributions throughout the course of their career to understanding the Moon and small bodies in our solar system.

Wargo Award

The Michael J. Wargo Exploration Science Award is given to scientists or engineers who have made significant contributions to the integration of science and exploration throughout their career.

Coradini Award

The Angioletta Coradini Award is a mid-career award for significant, lasting accomplishments related to exploration science.

Niebur Award

The Susan Mahan Niebur Award is given to early career researchers for significant contributions to exploration science.